यह ब्लॉग खोजें

Live News

बुधवार, अगस्त 18, 2010

USA 19th Amendment 90th Anniversay, Original Amadement Script

The Nineteenth Amendment (Amendment XIX) to the United States Constitution prohibits each state and the federal government from denying any citizen the right to vote based on that citizen's sex. It was ratified on August 18, 1920.

On August 18, 1920, the Tennessee General Assembly, by a one-vote margin, became the thirty-sixth state legislature to ratify the proposed amendment, making it the Nineteenth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution. On August 26, 1920, Secretary of State Bainbridge Colby certified the amendment's adoption.

The amendment, which gave women the right to vote, was finally ratified by the state of Tennessee in 1920; Tennessee being the 36th state to ratify meant that the required 3 quarters of the states had agreed, allowing the amendment to pass (in reference to the 3 quarters of US states equalling 36, there were still only 48 states in 1920).

कोई टिप्पणी नहीं:

एक टिप्पणी भेजें


Back To Top